2020 NYSCA/NYFA Artist Fellowship


20 Jay Street
Brooklyn, NY 11201


Jan 22, 2020


Nov 06, 2019

New York State-based artists are encouraged to apply for this $7,000 unrestricted cash award.
New York Foundation for the Arts (NYFA) is now accepting applications for 2020 NYSCA/NYFA Artist Fellowships in Craft/Sculpture, Digital/Electronic Arts, Nonfiction Literature, Poetry, and Printmaking/Drawing/Book Arts. These $7,000 unrestricted cash awards are made to individual originating artists living and working in the state of New York. They are not project grants and are intended to fund an artist’s vision or voice regardless of their level of artistic development. In 2019, NYFA awarded a total of $661,000 to 98 artists.

2020 Award Categories
* Craft/Sculpture
* Digital/Electronic Arts
* Nonfiction Literature
* Poetry
* Printmaking/Drawing/Book Arts


Eligibility Requirements
* 25 years or older
* Current residents of New York State and/or one of the Indian Nations located in New York State
* Must have maintained New York State residency, and/or residency in one of the Indian Nations located therein, for at least the last two consecutive years (2018 & 2019)
* Cannot be enrolled in a degree-seeking program of any kind
* Are the originators of the work, i.e. choreographers or playwrights, not interpretive artists such as dancers or actors
* Did not receive a NYSCA/NYFA Artist Fellowship in any discipline in the past five consecutive years: 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, and 2019
* Cannot submit any work samples that have been previously awarded a NYSCA/NYFA Artist Fellowship
* While collaborating artists are eligible to apply, the total number of collaborators cannot exceed three
* Are not a current NYFA employee or have been in the last 12 months, a member of the NYFA Board of Trustees or Artists’ Advisory Committee, immediate family member of any of the aforementioned, or an immediate family member of a 2019-2020 panelist
* Artists that have been awarded five NYSCA/NYFA Artist Fellowships receive Emeritus status and are no longer eligible for the award

Application Instructions

NYFA only accepts applications online via





Experience Level


More Information